Sep 14, 2012

Mahela Jayawardene to lead DD in CLT20 2012

Mahela Jayawardene will lead the Delhi Daredevils in the Karbonn Mobile Champions League T20 2012, beginning on October 9 in South Africa. The team includes vastly experienced and explosive batsmen and a full complement of fast-medium bowlers who can make an impact on fresh tracks at the start of the new season in South Africa.
Virender Sehwag, who led the team in four of the five IPL seasons, sought to be relieved of captaincy, GMR Sports Head (Cricket) and Delhi Daredevils Team Mentor TA Sekar said. “Viru told us a few months ago that he wanted to bat freely and suggested that we make Mahela the captain of the side,” Sekar said.
Delhi Daredevils has been drawn in Group A with Kolkata Knight Riders, Perth Scorchers, Titans and a qualifier. Group B has Chennai Super Kings, Mumbai Indians, Sydney Sixers, Highveld Lions and a qualifier. The two qualifiers will be spotted from among Trinidad and Tobago, Sialkot Stallions, Uva Next, Yorkshire, Hampshire and Auckland Aces.
The Delhi Daredevils squad includes six overseas cricketers, including Jayawardene. Explosive batsmen David Warner, Kevin Pietersen and Ross Taylor, IPL 2012 Purple Cap winner, paceman Morne Morkel and exciting West Indian all-rounder Andre Russell complete the set of overseas players in the squad of 15.
The squad: Mahela Jayawardene (captain), David Warner, Kevin Pietersen, Ross Taylor,  Morne Morkel, Andre Russell, Virender Sehwag, Irfan Pathan, Umesh Yadav, Venugopal Rao, Pawan Negi, Naman Ojha (wicket-keeper), Ajit Agarkar, Unmukt Chand and Aavishkar Salvi (as replacement for Varun Aaron).


Post a Comment